« Back
Special Offer:
Buy a Rod or Reel and Get FREE Bait! Details
Bait will be added to your cart automatically

Berkley® Lightning Rod™ Spinning

Model#LR702MS
$39.99 $27.99
Special Offer:
Buy a Rod or Reel and Get FREE Bait! Details
Bait will be added to your cart automatically

Details null

Variations

Availability:  Out of stock

Product Actions

$39.99 $27.99
Want to know when it's back in stock?
  • Multi-Modular Graphite gives the strength and sensitivity of a high end graphite rod
  • Fore-grip uses Hidden Thread Technology to reduce wear and tear on your fingers
  • Skeleton Reel Seat provides increased sensitivity while helping to reduce the overall weight
  • SS304 Guides - 20x tougher and 55% lighter than traditional aluminum oxide guides and are factory tested for dependability 
The Lightning Rod built its reputation on a unique combination of strength and sensitivity. Today, the Berkley Lightning Rod® is still the fastest, strongest, and lightest rod in its class. 
Berkley® Lightning Rod™ Spinning
Quick-Select
Use filters to find the right model
Clear Filters

Product Reviews

Berkley® Lightning Rod™ Spinning is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 102.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible sensitive with quick hook set I've been using this rod with a Pflueger reel. Spooled with 4lb test, flourocarbon for 3 years now. Mainly fishing the Yough River for trout. The rod translates so well that you'll actually feel your splitshot tapping the rocks as the current pushes the line down stream. I have caught several bass an also and a nice size carp with it. You wont believe how much backbone it has when you hook into large fish. Im not saying that you cant break it but its pretty darn impressive. For less than $40 if your any type of Angler your missing out if you dont own one. Im sure it will be one of your favorite go to Ultralights.
Date published: 2013-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent sensitivity and durability Hello, just wanted to thank you for providing a quality product at an affordable price. I recently purchased 4 , one piece , 7 foot lightning rods for steelhead and smallmouth bass fishing. We recently took a trip to the Florida keys and decided to take our new rods with us. Not only did they catch many nice snook and trout, but I also landed a 44 inch , 40lb cobia on one and it performed flawlessly. We will continue to purchase the original , cork handled lightning rods as long as they are available ( not a huge fan of the lightning rod shock handles).Here are a few photos of catches with your product.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightning rods I have a ton of them, I am a professional Angler and fishing guide. I have used $300 rods and all in between I recently converted back to lightning rods, I have old ones and new ones I have had not one problem. The lightning rod originals and new can take my hookset and when your pitching flipping spinner baits no matter what they stand up to punishment. I fish 300 days a year and no problems. I have even called Pure fishing just recently to make only a few changes small changes but overall they are for the money some of the best Rods ever made.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 6'6" ML Spinning 2pc Rod I bought the 6'6" ML 2pc spinning rod (LR662MLS) not too long ago. For the price this thing is MONEY!!! I caught my very first Speckled Trout on it. That thing was huge and had the rod bent over kissing itself in the rear. Handled it flawlessly! Also, after a rough drought, I caught my first bass of the year. Not a monster, but after about 5 solid hits & 3 hook-ups this rod did the job perfectly! I am currently "window shopping" to see which one I'll be buying next! My only "complaint" is that there isn't a 2pc casting model offered. Compact portability is something I would like to have in a rod. Would I recommend this to a friend? You bet your bottom dollar I would! Get yourself one & tear 'em up!
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get the good with the bad First of all, this rod is dirt cheap in the grand scheme of rod prices. The reason that Berkley is able to sell this rod at such a low price point it because of the poor quality handle. Specify the cork its made out of. It started to crumble after about a year and a half of use, but what do you expect from a rod in this price range. The reason I would suggest this rod to anyone and plan on buying half a dozen more is because of the actual rod blank. THE SENSITIVITY IS AS GOOD OR BETTER THAN RODS IN THE $100-200 DOLLAR RANGE!!!! I was blown away. The poor cork handle is a necessary evil to bring us this exceptional rod at an unbeatable price.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to setup Bought this rod at the beginning of summer. Little hesitant at first because of the occasional poor review. I have the 6'6" medium one piece with a pfleuger president reel. Can't beat the combo for under $100. I do a lot of weightless texas rig and top water fishing from the shore. Biggest bass on this rod was 5.24 lbs. Set your drag appropriately and it won't break. It's simple as that. Couldn't ask for more. Will be buying another when the time comes. Berkley is one of my favorite fishing brands.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Foregrip cork cracked I bought a 7' 6" telescopic Lightning rod from Berkley's online store and the foregrip cork cracked in two places when tightening the foregrip to secure the reel. The reel wasn't completely tightened when the cracking occurred. The issue is the plastic that the cork attaches to, which also clamps the reel in the reel seat is not very thick and the plastic expanded/ distorted, causing the cork to crack. It's not worth my time to return a $40 to Berkley, so I used some Gorilla glue and heat shrink tubing to repair it. I just hope the rod it's self doesn't fail.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good bang for the buck I have several - one piece, 7 foot, medium action rods - with a variety of 300 and 400 series spinning reels on them. My boys and I use these rods from the bayou to the offshore rigs. Have pulled up everything from perch and bullreds on the same rods and NEVER had a problem. We do take care of our rods. We don't step on them. We don't try to lift huge fish out of the water with the rod. We rinse w/ fresh water after trips (as pop always did) and store them inside. We use 20-50lbs power pro and the guides are holding up just fine. My opinion is that these rods look nice, and for $39 ($29 on sale), are every bit worth the investment. Would I recommend this rod to a friend? Yes, in fact I have on numerous ocassions, and to the best of my knowledge, they are as satisfied as I am. Be sensible not to expect a $250 rod for $39.
Date published: 2013-09-26
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_1363851, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_pure-fishing