« Back

Berkley® Lightning Rod™ Casting


Details null


Product Actions

  • Multi-Modular Graphite gives the strength and sensitivity of a high end graphite rod
  • Fore-grip uses Hidden Thread Technology to reduce wear and tear on your fingers
  • Skeleton Reel Seat provides increased sensitivity while helping to reduce the overall weight
  • SS304 Guides - 20x tougher and 55% lighter than traditional aluminum oxide guides and are factory tested for dependability
The Lightning Rod built its reputation on a unique combination of strength and sensitivity. Today, the Berkley Lightning Rod® is still the fastest, strongest, and lightest rod in its class.
Berkley® Lightning Rod™ Casting is rated 3.5758 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Casting Rod The Berkley Lightning Casting Rod is a great rod, especially for the price. Overall, an excellent value. I have used the Lightning Rod in the past, but wanted the latest model. Just received the new model. Lightweight with backbone. Perfect for fishing for Walleye and Northern Pike in Canada on my fly in this summer. Includes handy hookholder which I always appreciate on my rods. When I ordered the rod on line, the order flowed flawlessly and came just as ordered, right on time.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best rod made for the price. I have been using Lightning Rods years and you can't beat them for the price. I also wanted a rod that had a cork handle. I bought a lightning rod over 30 years ago when I started fishing with plastic worms and needed a stiffer rod.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible sensitive with quick hook set I've been using this rod with a Pflueger reel. Spooled with 4lb test, flourocarbon for 3 years now. Mainly fishing the Yough River for trout. The rod translates so well that you'll actually feel your splitshot tapping the rocks as the current pushes the line down stream. I have caught several bass an also and a nice size carp with it. You wont believe how much backbone it has when you hook into large fish. Im not saying that you cant break it but its pretty darn impressive. For less than $40 if your any type of Angler your missing out if you dont own one. Im sure it will be one of your favorite go to Ultralights.
Date published: 2013-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! Great performance! I bought it couple weeks ago and I got to fishing once, it's incredibly fast and sensitive!
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightning rods I have a ton of them, I am a professional Angler and fishing guide. I have used $300 rods and all in between I recently converted back to lightning rods, I have old ones and new ones I have had not one problem. The lightning rod originals and new can take my hookset and when your pitching flipping spinner baits no matter what they stand up to punishment. I fish 300 days a year and no problems. I have even called Pure fishing just recently to make only a few changes small changes but overall they are for the money some of the best Rods ever made.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 6'6" ML Spinning 2pc Rod I bought the 6'6" ML 2pc spinning rod (LR662MLS) not too long ago. For the price this thing is MONEY!!! I caught my very first Speckled Trout on it. That thing was huge and had the rod bent over kissing itself in the rear. Handled it flawlessly! Also, after a rough drought, I caught my first bass of the year. Not a monster, but after about 5 solid hits & 3 hook-ups this rod did the job perfectly! I am currently "window shopping" to see which one I'll be buying next! My only "complaint" is that there isn't a 2pc casting model offered. Compact portability is something I would like to have in a rod. Would I recommend this to a friend? You bet your bottom dollar I would! Get yourself one & tear 'em up!
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good bang for the buck I have several - one piece, 7 foot, medium action rods - with a variety of 300 and 400 series spinning reels on them. My boys and I use these rods from the bayou to the offshore rigs. Have pulled up everything from perch and bullreds on the same rods and NEVER had a problem. We do take care of our rods. We don't step on them. We don't try to lift huge fish out of the water with the rod. We rinse w/ fresh water after trips (as pop always did) and store them inside. We use 20-50lbs power pro and the guides are holding up just fine. My opinion is that these rods look nice, and for $39 ($29 on sale), are every bit worth the investment. Would I recommend this rod to a friend? Yes, in fact I have on numerous ocassions, and to the best of my knowledge, they are as satisfied as I am. Be sensible not to expect a $250 rod for $39.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cann't mount reel I just bought a 5'6" light spinning after having owned several Berkley rods that I have loved. To start out with I think the handle is really uncomfortable with the space so you can feel the rod in it. I have not however been able to fish with the rod since I can't seem to find a reel that will tighten up on the rod with out the top piece of cork breaking. I have tried 3 different reels a Quantum snapshot 10, Mitchell avocet II S500UL, and a Shimano FX1000FA. All are older reels but I should still be able to use them right.
Date published: 2013-05-18
  • 2015-11-27T12:08CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_1365017, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_pure-fishing
Berkley® Lightning Rod™ Casting
Use filters to find the right model
Clear Filters